Suicidology: a place for everyone!

This week I will be enjoying the company of fellow suicidologists in Chicago as we gather for the 49th Annual Meeting of the American Association of Suicidology. From the look of the program, this year’s conference is set to be fantastic! The theme this year is Suicidology: A Place for Everyone. This theme really speaks to the work that I have been engaged in for the past three years. Suicide prevention really is everyone’s business, and the best prevention comes from really understanding what suicide is like and why the harmful myths which breed the stigmatization of suicide ideation are, in fact, simply myths. I hope that this year’s conference will prove to be a safe and cordial forum for discussions, collaborations, and new friendships.

Throughout the week I will be posting on my blog and sharing my thoughts about what I’ve learned. I will also be live-Tweeting parts of the conference using the #AAS16 hastag.

For more information on the conference, please click here.

 

